Ontario National Parks Canada
Ontario National Parks Canada

National Parks of Ontario, Canada

Truly Canadian

In 1904, with the foundation of St Lawrence Islands National Park, the first National Park in Eastern Canada was born, followed by Point Pelée (1918) and Georgian Bay Islands National Park (1929). Today, the province of Ontario has a total of six national parks .

Bruce Peninsula National Park is recognised by the UNESCO as a Biosphere Reserve. The UNESCO program acknowledges exceptional examples of the natural eco-system around the world.

Bruce Peninsula National Park
Bruce Peninsula National Park is situated on the northern tip of the Bruce Peninsula, between Georgian Bay and Lake Huron. The spectacular park, with a size of 155 square kilometers at the end of the Niagara Escarpment, consists out of limestone cliffs, caves and underground streams, and ancient forests with some of the oldest trees in Canada. You may even discover rare orchids.

Further information for Bruce Peninsula National Park

Fathom Five National Marine Park
Fathom Five National Marine Park is situated just off the northern tip of the Bruce Peninsula. The park has a size of 112 square kilometers and is the oldest national marine parks in Canada. The park consists out of 20 islands, were rare ferns and orchids can be found, as well as some of the oldest forests in eastern Canada. There are 22 historic shipwrecks protected in the area, earlier known as Tobermory Islands area.

Further information for Fathom Five National Marine Park

Georgian Bay Islands National Park
Georgian Bay Islands National Park, which encompasses 59 islands has a total size of 25.6 square kilometers and is situated off the southeast shore of Georgian Bay. This park is fairly small, however it is protected habitat for some uncommon species, such as the Massassauga rattlesnake. This snake lives on Beausoleil Island and is the only venomous snake in Eastern Canada. As a matter of fact, this little park has the greatest variety of reptiles and amphibians of any Canadian national park.

Further information for Georgian Bay Islands National Park

Point Pelee National Park
Point Pelée National Park is situated on the southernmost tip of Canada’s mainland, which in fact is at the same latitude as Rome. This grants one of Canada’s smallest national parks a warm climate with many species typical of southern areas. Although small, the park is heavily visited and known as Canada’s finest bird watching spot, with over 300 species recorded. A boardwalk gives access to the park’s marshlands, home to many reptiles and amphibians.

Further information for Point Pelee National Park

Pukaskwa National Park
Pukaskwa National Park is located on Lake Superior and makes up Ontario’s only wilderness park with a total size of 1,888 square kilometers. The wilderness of boreal forests is home to wildlife such as moose, black bear, woodland caribou, and wolves. The park unfolds spectacular vistas of Lake Superior.

Further information for Pukaskwa National Park

St. Lawrence Islands National Park
St. Lawrence Islands National Park is with a size of 4 square kilometres Canada’s smallest National Park. The park comprises all or parts of 21 granite islands scattered from Brockville to Kingston, Ontario in the heart of the 1000 Islands tourist region. The islands are accessible by boat only and many offer primitive campsites.

Further information for St. Lawrence Islands National Park

More National Parks of other provinces

Alberta   Alberta National Parks

British Columbia   British Columbia National Parks

Manitoba   Manitoba National Parks

New Brunswick   New Brunswick National Parks

Newfoundland & Labrador   Newfoundland & Labrador National Parks

Nova Scotia   Nova Scotia National Parks

Ontario   Ontario National Parks

Prince Edward Island   Prince Edward Island National Parks

Quebec   Quebec National Parks

Saskatchewan   Saskatchewan National Parks

Yukon Territory   Yukon Territory National Parks


Further information can also be obtained in our Provincial Travel Guides
Alberta British Columbia Manitoba New Brunswick Newfoundland & Labrador
Nova Scotia Ontario Prince Edward Island Québec Saskatchewan
Yukon Territory        

All rights reserved Kanada News ©2000-2003